Amidst the devastation in Washington State, we are grateful for…

grateful

It has been a devastating last year for Washington State; the place I call home. 

Last year, the I-5 Bridge over the Skagit River collapsed suddenly, sending drivers and their vehicles into the cold river water below.  I actually had driven over the bridge a little while before it went down.

This March, in the small town of Oso, Washington, an unstable hill caved in, triggering a mudslide and engulfing a rural neighborhood.  It wiped out a 1 square mile area and many lives, homes and livelihoods were lost.

This July, we set the record for the largest wildfire ever in Washington state, covering 237,000 acres of land and wiping out over 300 homes and businesses. This fire is still burning this very second.

This past weekend I decided it was time to spread some positive energy around my community, amidst the devastation.

At my Health and Lifestyle Coaching booth, I simply asked:  “What are you Grateful for?”  and had attendees of the festival write their answers on index cards and hang them up on string.

The response was overwhelming.  Here is what everyone shared:

I am grateful for my husband.

I am grateful for resilience.    -Karen L.

I am grateful for a stranger’s smile, chocolate, peanut butter ice cream, chemo, dusk, coffee beans, and the next friend I will meet.

I am grateful for my good health (almost 75 years!)

I am grateful for my amazing family and friends. -Janie O.

I am grateful for my wonderful sister.

I am grateful for my mom, dad and sisters!  -Elaina

I am grateful for having a roof over my head and food to eat, and a loving family.

I am grateful for another day.

I am grateful for my wonderful life, my wonderful wife, family and friends.

I am grateful for the blessings in my life.

I am grateful to be able to think correctly and not get nervous anymore.

I am grateful for my dear girlfriends!

I am grateful for my son.  He is the light of my life.  -Louise

I am grateful for my house and my family.

I am grateful to be 85, still going and having fun!

SO NOW I ASK YOU:  What are you grateful for?

To your happiness!!

Health Coach Autumn

 

 

Leave a Reply

