Gluten is a substance present in cereal grains ( especially wheat) which is responsible for the elastic texture of dough. A mixture of two proteins, it causes illness in people with celiac disease and others who are sensitive to it. Gluten sensitivity and allergies can produce a host of symptoms: Bloating, foggy head syndrome, gastrointestinal problems, memory problems, acne and breakouts, pain, dizziness, fatigue, hormone imbalances, headaches, inflammation, depression, anxiety…the list goes on.
So how do you know if you are sensitive to Gluten?
Get a blood test done. You can also stay away from products containing gluten for at least one week to see If you body feels better.
Don’t know what to eat that is gluten-free? Here are a list of grains that you can consume if you are going gluten-free:
•Bean and legume flours
•Montina (Indian rice grass)
•Nut & seed flours
•Potato, potato flour & potato starch
(white & sweet)
•Rice, rice bran, & wild rice
•Soy (beans, flour)
•Teff * Cross-contamination is possible
To your health!
Health Coach Autumn