The Fastest Way to Beat Anxiety (from a past anxiety sufferer)

worry

I used to suffer from anxiety severely.  It was so debilitating I could barely leave my house to go to the grocery store.  My whole world seemed to be caving in on me.  I internalized everything.  I kept thinking that people would take one look at me and know I was unstable, know I was sick, know I was a second away from bursting into tears…  I thought everyone was the enemy.

Through the grace of a meditation and mindfulness class as well as my schooling through the Institute for Integrative Nutrition I found peace.  I used to think meditation was a bunch of baloney!   The only reason I even signed up for a Meditation class was because I was desperate– but my meditation teacher told me that if I practiced it on a regular basis things in my life would change.  So I stuck to it.  Low and behold about five weeks into it I saw the light.  I’ve been a changed person ever since.

Furthermore, I learned a great anxiety technique from one of my teachers at the institute, Dr. Andrew Weil.  He traveled the world for decades and found that this was the most successful healing method overall.

It’s a 4, 7, 8 breathing technique.  Here are the steps:

1.  Blow out all of the air from your lungs.

2.  Breathe in as much air as you can for 4 seconds.

3.  Hold your breath for 7 seconds

4.  Exhale for 8 seconds

5.  Repeat the 4-7-8 cycle four times in a row, at least twice daily.

I know this will help you lessen your anxiety, as it helped me.

If you are suffering from anxiety, go to my website, www.pacificnorthwesthealth.com and fill out the “free consultation” link in order to sign up for a consultation with me.  We can discuss how I can further help you with your anxiety so you don’t have to suffer any longer.  I counsel patients all over the world.

To your health!

Autumn (check me out at www.pacificnorthwesthealth.com)

8 thoughts on “The Fastest Way to Beat Anxiety (from a past anxiety sufferer)

  1. Thankyou for sharing your tips in this post…I will try your 4-7-8 cycle breathing exercise, it sounds pretty useful! Anxiety is such a huge part of my life, almost like my shadow, so it’s hard to fathom life without it, but I’m always eager to try any ideas to find more control over it at least 🙂 Thankyou!

    • Glad you are going to try this technique out Chantelle, it’s one of the best! I use it all the time. What would your life be like without anxiety?

    • So glad you saved it. I would suggest practicing the technique in your spare time when you aren’t having an attack. Then when you are having an attack, you will be able to use the technique automatically. I can’t tell you what this breathing technique has done for my life!

Leave a Reply

